Answered By: Brandi Porter
Last Updated: Sep 06, 2016     Views: 74




Dewey Decimal Classification System

The ANU Library uses the Dewwy Decimal Classication System to organize resources such as books, CDs, DVDs, and eBooks by subject area.  There are ten main classes, which are listed below, that are separated in to ten subcatefories or divisions, which are further separated into ten sections. For more information, please go to

000 – Computer Science, Information and General Worlds

100 – Philosophy and Psychology

                170 Ethics

200 – Religion

300 – Social Sciences

                302.2, 363.7 Environment Science

320 Political Science

330 Economics

340 Law

360 Social Issues

362.1 Public Health

400 – Language

                423 Dictionaries

500 – Natural Sciences and Mathematics

600 – Technology

                610 Medicine and Health

                650 Management/Accounting/ Marketing

700 – Arts

800 – Literature

                080.5 Public Speaking

900 – History and Geography

BIO – Biography

REF – Reference

FIC - Fiction

This information is provided in a PDF version (at the bottom of the page) for you to save or print. 

You can also find this information by clicking on the "Handouts & Tutorials" link below or by following the directions:

  • Go to
  • Click on the "Writing & Math Center" tab in the purple navigation menu on the left-hand side of the screen.
  • Click on "Writing Center" to go to the Writing Center
  • Click on the "Handouts" tab
  • Click on the "Dewey Decimal System" link